He’s actually reading!

I have held off on this post for a while now, because I don’t want to sound like an advertisement.  I bought an online phonics program for M a while ago.  He’s been asking to use it every day, even on the weekends!  He does his lesson, which presents the sounds several ways and in words.  At the end, there is a progress report that comes up.  He prints that out, and reads three sentences that he’s practiced during the lesson, then puts it in his “reading portfolio” to show his progress.  He LOVES it!  And he’s actually fluently reading the words on the page.  I can’t wait until he gets beyond simple phonics, and moves on to blends and harder words.  That will be the true test.

The lessons are animated, but not over the top to get the child’s attention.  He started on lesson 10, and is on lesson 21 now.  The best part is, if he burns out on this like he has on other programs, they have a 60 day money back guarantee!  Also, you are allowed one student account at a time for no additional charge, but once that child has completed the program, the account is yours to keep.  You can delete that child, and start the next child at the beginning.  Since this is approximately a 2 year program (M will be done in a matter of months if he keeps up this rate), G and then C will both be ready to start as soon as the other is finished.  Then, when they are done, I can transfer the membership to another family, at no cost to them.

M is the type of child who likes to teach himself.  He doesn’t like it if he doesn’t understand something, or if he needs to be taught more than once.  This program is basically doing that.  He logs himself in, and does the work on the computer on his own.  Nobody is telling him how to do it, or if he’s doing it wrong.  The program actually doesn’t tell him he’s wrong, either.  It simply presents the sound/word again until he gets it right.  The progress report shows how many he got correct on the first try, and tells you which words or sounds required multiple presentations.  If he needs more than 4 items presented more than once, he is supposed to repeat the lesson.

I hope this program continues to build on his success.  Only time will tell, but I think it will.

Explore posts in the same categories: ADHD, Homeschooling, Tourette Syndrome

4 Comments on “He’s actually reading!”

  1. Therese Says:

    What is the name of that program you were telling me about again? I also keep hearing about time4learning.com… some friends of mine love it.

  2. Michelle Says:

    Hi thank you for sharing your BLOG with me – I get so encouraged by others & like to gain new ideas, too. Sounds like your M is steam rolling through this Reading Program! WooHoo! It’s always so rewarding not only for our children, but us as parents, too, when we find that fit – even if that fit is short-lived, but effective! 🙂

    I look forward to reading more of your homeschooling adventures – it’s a little inspiring that others can BLOG – I’ve been considering it for a while myself…

    • Mama Bets Says:

      Michelle, I had been thinking about blogging for a while. I could never think of anything anyone would be interested in reading. Then, I realized that we were at the beginning of this great journey called Tourette Syndrome. I honestly don’t think I have anything different, or new, to parents of kids with TS, but my prayer is that through my blog I will encourage others – not because I am perfect, but exactly the opposite. I want to encourage parents of kids with TS, and especially homeschoolers, to remember that there are others out there with similar struggles and trials, but also similar joys and blessings!


Leave a comment